Microsoft Certified DevOps Engineer Expert Certification: Everything You Need to Know


The Microsoft Certified–DevOps Engineer Expert certification reflects a developer’s knowledge, skills, and ability to design and execute various DevOps strategies. For individuals who are interested in this certification, this article provides the test prerequisites, sources of training materials, course duration, and other details. Let’s get started.

Are you a DevOps professional who can work with people, technologies, and processes to continuously deliver products and/or services that meet business requirements? Do you want to build your career around the Microsoft Azure domain? If so, the time is ripe to pursue the Microsoft DevOps Engineer certification. But to attain that certification, you must first pass the Microsoft Certified–DevOps Engineer Expert certification exam (Code AZ-400). 

Everything About the Microsoft Certified–DevOps Engineer Expert Certification

What is the AZ-400 certification exam?

The Microsoft Certified–DevOps Engineer Expert certification (formerly known as the Azure DevOps Engineer Expert CertificationOpens a new window ) verifies that one “possesses the fundamental knowledge and proven skills to qualify as a Microsoft Azure DevOps Engineer.” The certification exam, called Exam AZ-400: Designing and Implementing Microsoft DevOps SolutionsOpens a new window , tests a candidate’s ability to “design and implement various DevOps strategies.” It is offered in the following languages – English, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, and Korean.

What are the prerequisites for taking up the exam?

As stated by MicrosoftOpens a new window , to be eligible to take the exam, the candidate should be familiar with Azure development and Azure administration. They must also be certified either as an Azure Administrator Associate or Azure Developer Associate. Aside from attaining one of these certifications, candidates should be able to “design and implement DevOps practices for infrastructure as code, version control, configuration management, compliance, release, build, and testing with the use of Azure technologies. They must also be proficient in implementing and administering Agile processes.” 

See More: Top 18 Azure DevOps Interview Questions in 2022

Types of training available

Several online training courses can help prepare candidates for the exam. Microsoft provides a free online learning path that covers the skills measured in the AZ-400 exam. Microsoft also provides a paid online, five-day, instructor-led course: AZ-400T00:Designing and Implementing Microsoft DevOps solutionsOpens a new window . This course is offered in the following languages: English, Chinese (Simplified), Japanese, and Korean.

In addition to Microsoft, third party training organizations also offer MS Azure DevOps Engineers Certification Training. These include intelliPaatOpens a new window , K21AcademyOpens a new window , and Cloud AcademyOpens a new window .

What type of questions should one expect from the exam?

According to K21AcademyOpens a new window , the questions on the exam are written in a number of formats, including:

  • Single choice questions
  • Multiple-choice questions
  • Arrange in right sequence type questions
  • Case studies followed by multiple questions related to the scenarios described in the case study

Are there any practice tests available?

Taking practice tests will help you familiarize yourself with the question topics and formats as well as identify areas where you may need further training. Taking online simulated practice exams can also assist you in becoming familiar with taking a test in a timed test environment. 

Two vendors that offer practice tests are Pearson Vue and Edusum. Pearson Vue’s MeasureUp AZ-400: Designing and Implementing Microsoft DevOps SolutionsOpens a new window is “an official Microsoft practice test specifically designed to help candidates prepare for and pass the Microsoft AZ-400 exam.” Similarly, Edusum Opens a new window provides an “online simulated practice test to prepare for the DevOps Engineer certification exam.” 

See More: What Is Azure DevOps? Fundamentals, Services, and Pricing in 2022

Where does one sign up to take the exam?

Candidates can schedule to take Microsoft certification exams through the Pearson VUE Opens a new window Website. Tests can be scheduled to be taken in person at an authorized test center or online while being monitored by an offsite proctor.

How long will it take to complete the exam?

The actual certification exam consists of 40-60 questions that will take 210 minutes to complete. For candidates with English as a Second Language, Pearson VUE offers an additional 30 minutes to complete the exam only if it is not offered in their native language. 

What types of skills are measured in the exam?

As defined by MicrosoftOpens a new window , the skills that are measured and the weighted percentage devoted to each skill are as follows:

  • Develop an instrumentation strategy (5-10%)
  • Develop a Site Reliability Engineering (SRE) strategy (5-10%)
  • Develop a security and compliance plan (10-15%)
  • Manage source control (10-15%)
  • Facilitate communication and collaboration (10-15%)
  • Define and implement continuous integration (20-25%)
  • Define and implement continuous delivery and release management strategy (10-15%)

What does it cost to take the exam?

The exam costs $165 (USD) each time it is taken. 

Can one retake the exam?

The passing score is 700Opens a new window . If you do not pass the exam, you will need to wait 24 hours before you can retake it. If you fail a second time, you need to wait 14 days before you will be allowed to retake the exam. You can retake the exam up to 5 times within a year. 

How long is the Microsoft Certified–DevOps Engineer Expert certification valid?

The Microsoft Certified – DevOps Engineer Expert certification expires after one year unless renewed. Six months before your certificate expires, you will receive an email from Microsoft that will direct you to the specific page on Microsoft LearnOpens a new window . You will find all the resources you will need to pass the renewal exam, including a free collection of learning modules. The renewal exam is a “free, unproctored, online renewal assessment that measures the skills needed to remain up-to-date as a DevOps engineer.” Because the exam focuses only on the latest technology changes, it is much shorter than the original exam. 

The renewal assessment can be taken as many times as you need to pass within the six months before your certification expires. However, if you fail after the second attempt, you will have to wait at least 24 hours between each retake.

Passing the reassessment will extend the certification for one year beyond the expiration date, after which you will need to take another renewal exam for your certification to remain valid. 

It is important to note that the expert-level certifications will not automatically expire if the associate-level prerequisite certification taken to become eligible to take the original expert exam expires. Each certification must be renewed separately.

Which DevOps certification would you recommend the most to budding developers? Comment below or let us know on LinkedInOpens a new window , TwitterOpens a new window , or FacebookOpens a new window . We’d love to hear from you!